Introduction to Asexuality; Part 1 of a 6 Part Series

Do you know how long it took me to understand what other girls meant when they called a celebrity hot ?

Too long. Way too long.

The simple definition of asexuality is not feeling sexual attraction towards anyone. Like, I never understood that some people look at somebody who has the right features or whatever, and…. feel things….

(Side note: No, I’m not a plant…. thanks for asking I guess)

When I said I like a boy in middle school and high school, I just meant that I like the way his features align and his personality is appealing.

I didn’t actually want to do anything with any of them… including date them. Really the only reason I would conjure up the notion that I liked them in the first place is so I could participate in  girl talk and giggle with everyone else.

Also, there’s a spectrum of asexuality, which include demisexuality or graysexuality

Demisexuality means that you do not…. feel things…. until you star to get close to a person

gray-asexuality, or graysexuality means that you very rarely experience the feelings. 

I just thought you should know thee terms before I continue.

So why am I writing about asexuality in the first place? Well, first of all, it is something I experience everyday. When I hear other girls talk about cute guys, and who their crushes are, I am reminded of this.

When the overseas student is working behind the counter of the on campus sub place and my friend swoons the second she lays eyes on him, I am reminded of this.

It’s a very crazy world we live in, and a lot of people are driven by sex. It took me a long time to realize this.

giphy (2)

I can still be romantically attracted to people  (Aromantic is another term I may bring up some time because I’m still trying to figure that out). But at this point it is really hard for me  to imagine myself ever getting into a relationship… so we will see where that goes I guess.

And relating to this all, I may very well post about other things regarding LGBT+ things. The thing is, yes I am a Christian, but there is no way you will ever catch me holding a sign against pride parade, or whatever else has been happening lately.

I would rather invite them into my home and serve them dinner or something. And like it or not fellow Christians, that is what we are called to do. I could go on about this, but I will save it for another post, another day, another time.

For now, I am signing off!

-still trying to come up with an anonymous name to call myself.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

